domain registration spams
I have never been quite lucky with domain registrations. First with techstream and now when we wanted to book rectians.com too ,another problem came up .
Our AlumniĀ was generous enough to donate rectians.com and so he was looking for places to book it ,he first landed at network solutions to find a cheaper one .
And then we headed on to book it at 1and1.com ,the problem came when we recieved a mail which says the domain is not available now !
How did that happen ?
a simple whois rectians.com revealed that the network-solutions guys have already booked it and now they are virtually forcing us to buy it from them at a higher cost .
This is one of the reasons why internet sucks and that there are suckers like this company .Even if i do go and register with them ,i wont be surprised if they hike their fees to 100$ for booking !
Really at lack of words ,we needed to book it to keep NITTians.com identity intact and that our college is as much RECT as it is NITT .Wish internet didnt have losers like this company .
No ,iam not going to book it from them ,iam going to wait until they dont lose it ,may be i will wait for 10 days when the advance parking will cease .
Whatay bad day :p stole it straight from sidin .
PS: Sidin will be on campus for Pragyan ,so if you are around then come in and talk ! .
If you enjoyed this post, please consider to leave a comment or subscribe to the feed and get future articles delivered to your feed reader.
Comments
@niyaaz now i will wait until their pre registration expires ! and iam going to buy it at godaddy.com
Good article on domain registration and how it goes to spam. I use this code all the time and it really helps to save me money while brainstorming ideas for domains. Other codes in this family include ZINE1 (Save 10% on anything), and ZINE2 (Save $5 off $30).
15 years ago I was searching for the availability of a domain in network solutions, it was showing available, i did not register then, tried availability at ns after 6 more months and was showing available. when i finally went to register the domain it was taken and no longer available. checked under whois and it was registered by ns(network solutions) no website was designed by ns for that domain so waited patiently and after 2 years ns did not renew and then I applied and I got them back. Be careful with where you check the domain availability.

Iam Theyagarajan S ( 'taggy') . to know more ,head out to

I have heard this story before.
You just search for a domain name and they pre-register it.
That is what is called cheating. Really.
Use some other domain regn website.
I have used godaddy and they dont do this type of robbery.